Featured Lawmakers

Sen. Mike Rounds recognized for introducing High-Quality Liquid Asset legislation

Missouri River Energy Services (MRES) is pleased to recognize Sen. Mike Rounds (R-S.D.) for his leadership in introducing S.3404. This bill amends the Federal Deposit Insurance Act with respect to the treatment of certain municipal obligations to direct the federal banking agencies to treat as a high-quality liquid asset, any municipal obligation that is liquid, readily marketable, and is investment grade.


Federal Treasury rules approved a rule establishing minimum liquidity requirements for large banking organizations. The liquidity coverage ratio rule was designed to ensure that large banks maintain liquid assets that can easily be converted to cash during times of national economic crisis.  However, the rule failed to include municipal securities in any of the acceptable investment categories. Efforts to change the rule failed, so a legislative fix was pursued. S.3404 is the companion bill to house bill HR 2209 which was passed in the House on February 1, 2016. This bill takes a common-sense approach to correcting the liquidity coverage ratio to include municipal securities.


Sen. Rounds has championed this bill on behalf of MRES and its members. While time is running out in 2016, this is a start to possible passage in the 115th Congress in 2017.



2016 Notable Lawmakers

Sen. John Thune



2015 Notable Lawmakers

Sen. Joni Ernst

Sen. John Thune

Sen. John Thune



2014 Notable Lawmakers  

Sen. John Thune

Sen. Heidi Heitkamp

Minnesota State Rep. Michael Beard

Iowa State Sen. Nancy Boettger

Sen. Tim Johnson

Sen. John Thune



2013 Notable Lawmakers

Sen. John Thune

Rep. Tim Walz

Sen. John Thune

Iowa State Sens. Bolkcom and Feenstra and State Reps. Sands and Kelley

North Dakota State Sens. Klein, Murphy, and Robinson and Reps. Delzer, Monson, and Vigesaa

Sen. Amy Klobuchar

Sens. Al Franken, Tim Johnson, Amy Klobuchar



2012 Notable Lawmakers    

Sen John Thune and Rep. Collin Peterson

Senator Kent Conrad

Minnesota State Rep. Morrie Lanning

Senators Amy Klobuchar and John Hoeven

Senator Tim Johnson

Iowa State Senator Steve Kettering

Congressman Tim Walz

Senators Al Franken and Amy Klobuchar

Pierre, S.D., Mayor Laurie Gill